The SWBio DTP is governed by a selection of groups. The role of these different groups and their membership are listed below.

Governance structure of the SWBio DTP

The External Advisory Group is chaired by Dr Mike Hann and has both academic and industrial representatives. The External Advisory Group provides reflective input and advice to the Management Group to contribute to the strategic development of the DTP.

GlaxoSmithKline (Chair) Dr Mike Hann
UCB Dr Tom Crabbe
DLF Seeds UK Chris Gamble
Newcastle University Prof Robert Edwards
University of Oxford Prof Gail Preston

The SWBio DTP Management Group is chaired by the Director and has representatives from each of the partners. The Management Group is responsible for strategic and operational oversight of the programme.

University/Research Organisation
Director (Chair) Prof Leo Brady
Bristol Prof Zafar Bashir
Bath Prof Robert Kelsh
Cardiff Prof Robert Honey
Exeter Dr James Wakefield
Rothamsted Research Dr Laura Cardenas

The SWBio DTP Implementation Group is made up members from all five SWBio DTP partners and chaired by the Academic Coordinator. The main responsibility of the group is to implement the programme which includes delivering training and cohort building activities.

University/Research Organisation
Academic Coordinator (Chair) Prof Mark Viney
Bath Dr Chris Bailey
Bristol Dr James Hodge
Cardiff Prof Helen White-Cooper
Exeter Dr Steve Bates
Rothamsted Research Dr Lianhai Wu

The SWBio DTP Operational Group is made up members from all five SWBio DTP partners and chaired by the Hub Manager. The main responsibility of the group is to support the management and co-ordination of the programme.

University/Research Organisation
Hub Manager (Chair) Dr Samantha Southern
Bath Simon Gane
Bristol Jess McCallum
Cardiff Amanda Rouse
Exeter Elizabeth Noon/Christine Gifford (
Rothamsted Research Donna Fellowes

The role of the Research Theme Champions are to build cross-institutional cross-year group networks and to create and identify training opportunities around three research themes.

Research theme University/Research Organisation
Agriculture and the Environment Dr Dan Bebber Exeter
Animal Behaviour and In Vivo Studies Dr Nadia Cerminara Bristol
Biomolecular and Biophysical Studies Dr Chris Pudney Bath

The role of the PIPS Management Team is to provide oversight of the Professional Internships for PhD Students scheme.

University/Research Organisation
PIPS Director Amanda Harper
PIPS Officer Dawn Hallett
Bristol Prof Mark Viney
Cardiff Prof Rob Honey
Exeter CLES PGR Support Team
Rothamsted Donna Fellowes